Sri Lanka Announces Visa-Free Entry for Indian Tourists

In a bid to promote the tourism sector, Sri Lanka has announced visa-free entry for Indian tourists along with those from China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand. This move has come as part of a pilot project that started with immediate effect, until March 21, 2024.

The announcement was made by Sri Lanka’s foreign affairs minister Ali Sabry through his X account.

“Cabinet approves issuing of free visas to India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia & Thailand with immediate effect as a pilot project till 31 March,” the minister said.

As Sri Lanka relies heavily on tourism, this new step is conceived as a move to boost the economy with high inflation, unemployment, etc.

Connect with NRI experts via WhatsApp | Click here